The legal regulations on the use of bicycle helmets in the United States vary from state to state. In fact, there is no comprehensive federal legislation that addresses its use. In general, states that have some legislation for its use require it for children. However, cyclists have rights and responsibilities to fulfill. For example, in the event of a fall, whether or not to wear a helmet is crucial because it offers easy and inexpensive protection against a personal head injury.
Specifically, the law on the use of bicycle helmets in California requires minors under 18 years of age to correctly use a helmet that meets the established safety standards. This applies to riding a bicycle on the street, bicycle lane, or any route or bicycle path, even if they use skateboards and scooters. The requirement also applies to people who travel as passengers or are towed to a bicycle.
Violations of this law established in Section 21212 of the California Vehicle Code are considered an infraction punishable by a fine of up to $25, which must be canceled by the minor’s parents or legal guardians. The law also regulates helmets offered for sale, which must be adequately labeled and certified by the manufacturer to minimize potential damage in an accident.
In short, it is advisable for cyclists to obey the regulations for the traffic of vehicles, including the helmet, to avoid sanctions or for safety reasons in case of getting involved in an accident or vehicle collision. It also helps to minimize the risk of serious injury. However, if the driver’s negligence injures you or if the helmet does not adequately meet safety standards, you may need the professional services of an attorney to file a claim.